Let’s face it, none of us like when we feel like we’re being swindled. You’re probably reading this because something has popped up on your card history recently that suggests you’ve received a double charge, around the time of your monthly anniversary with us. This article is going to explain what that charge most likely is, so you, as a member of our YouMail family, have some peace of mind.
In the world of credit and debit transactions there is something called an “Authorization charge.” This can often be referred to as an “Authorization hold” or a “Ghost charge.” It varies depending on what you reference. For the sake of this article we’ll just call it an authorization charge.
Most companies and services are obligated to send this before ever making a charge to your card. The term “charge” in regards to authorizations is a bit misleading since ultimately this is just a funds check. Initially an authorization charge is sent to the card to check if sufficient funds are available. Assuming there are, the company/service then runs the actual charge. This explains why at some point you can see two charges for the same amount within a close vicinity to one another.
Typically, after 5-7 business days the authorization charge will disappear but this is ultimately dictated by the policy of your bank or creditor. In some very rare instances the authorization can last up to 30 days! For details on what is acceptable for your case, please contact the issuer of your card. Because of this, we, or any other company for that matter, are unable to expedite the process. If we could, I assure you, we definitely would, since it will reduce the amount of miscommunications we see because of it.
That’s the quick spiel on that pesky charge you saw. We’ve taken the liberty of attaching a few other article from other companies talking about that same charge for your reference.
If you still have questions or are experiencing some billing issues please let us know by submitting a ticket by clicking here. Thanks!